Website of the Week: Digital Public Library of America


DPLA

This week’s Website of the Week is the Digital Public Library of America. This digital repository links thousands of collections across the whole of North America, with millions of digitized artifacts, printed works, published and unpublished manuscripts and much, much more. Great for teachers and students alike.

Research in Context Database Now Available


The Cabra Library is now able to offer students and staff access to another excellent collection of reference information. It is called Research in Context Database and it offers comprehensive detailed  information on just about every topic you could think of. You can access an incredible wealth of information on most topics and view or download these eBooks for later use in much the same way as the Gale Virtual Reference Database GVRL database. For a comprehensive set of guides on using this new research tool click here.

The Research in Context Database covers the following broad subject areas: Click here for the full list.

You will need a username and password to access the site, please ask your Homeroom Teacher for this. Access this resource and many others from the “Link Favourites” on the right hand side of our Access-It Library Catalogue.

For an overview and tips & tricks on using GVRL check out the video tutorials below:

New updates to Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre


AUNZ_POVRC_Web

New updates to:
Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre

There are more than 150 topics in your Australia / New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre subscription, helping you to critically analyse multiple sides of a current / controversial issue, and develop persuasive essay writing skills.

This quarterly update includes the following new topics:

  • Australian Jihadists in Iraq
  • Constitutional Recognition for Aboriginals
  • Corporate Tax Rate
  • Drug Use
  • Education & Aboriginals
  • Effect of Mobile Devices on Personal Relationships
  • FIFO Workers in the Mining Industry
  • Journalist Peter Greste Jailed in Egypt
  • Nuclear Cooperation between Australia & India

All topics contain four essays written by subject experts from Australia or New Zealand, with a balance of materials from all viewpoints, overviews, arguments, and opposing ideas.

For more info on Points of View go here. For ‘How To’ Tutorials on ‘Points of View’ and other EBSCO Research Databases click here.

You will need a username and password to access the site, please ask your Homeroom Teacher for this or one of the friendly Cabra Library staff.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Now Available


The Cabra Library is now able to offer students and staff access to another excellent collection of reference information. It is called Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) and it offers comprehensive detailed  information on just about every topic you could think of. You can access an incredible wealth of information on most topics and view or download these eBooks for later use, keyword searching…

GVRL is arranged into the following broad subject areas:

You will need a username and password to access the site, please ask your Homeroom Teacher for this. Access this resource and many others from the “Link Favourites” on the right hand side of our Access-It Library Catalogue.

For an overview and tips & tricks on using GVRL check out the video tutorials below:

Today is Safer Internet Day for 2015


SID 2015 banner

Safer Internet Day (SID) is organised by Insafe in February of each year to promote safer and more responsible use of online technology and mobile phones, especially among children and young people across the world.

This year’s theme is “Let’s create a better internet together”.

Check out the links below for more Cyber-safety tips and tricks.

Cyber Safety Resources from Common Sense Media

Cyber-Ethics from iKeepSafe

Cabra Library Launches YouTube Channel


In an effort to give students and staff a self-paced way of learning how to use our catalogue and resources we have started a YouTube channel. Our first two “How to” screen casts are now available with more to follow as we make them. Any requests for other video tutorials most welcome.

Year 11 SACE Research Project Parents’ Information Evening


Last night more than 100 parents of Year 11 students undertaking the SACE Research Project this Semester braved the wet and windy weather to attend an information evening in the Aquinas Building. The Principal Mr Schumacher spoke of the importance of the project not only for students’ tertiary entrance hopes but for developing life long learning skills. Research Project teacher and Head of Year 12 Mr O’Brien gave parents an overview of the structure of the project, the assessment criteria and  the timeline. Research Project Coordinator and Librarian Mr Bull presented a whistle-stop tour of the essential resources and tools needed for the RP as well as the best ways for students to get help.

RP Assessment typesRP Quick Guide

It was great to see so many enthusiastic parents attending last night. The range and depth of the questions at the end of the presentation showed staff that Cabra parents really appreciate being involved in their children’s learning and are up for the challenge of the research Project this Semester. For those unable to attend as well as those present I have included all the information and resources from the evening below.

Download  the Research Project 2014 Assessment Overview and the Cabra College Research Project Quick Guide here.

Check out the Cabra Senior Library Blog RP page here. The gateway to all research Project resources and help in one place.

HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP  HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP HELP

As well as the normal class time set aside for this subject, Mr Bull has blocked out the Senior Library for RP help every Monday Blocks 7-8 and Wednesday Block 4. He will be on hand at these times to help with any questions, queries or issues concerning the Research Project. And lastly, remember that the Senior School Library is open before school from 8.00am every day and after school till 4.30pm Monday-Thursday for study, homework help or catch-up.

 

Website of the Week: Eric Weisstein’s World of Science


Science World from Wolfram Research

This week’s Website of the Week is Eric Weisstein’s World of Science, a Wolfram Web resource by the folks who brought us  Wolfram Alpha. This site is an excellent resource for biographical info on scientists, Astronomy, Chemistry, Maths and Physics.

Poetry Page Updated


The Old English epic poem Beowulf is written i...

The Old English epic poem Beowulf is written in alliterative verse and paragraphs, not in lines or stanzas. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Image by surrealmuseDue to popular demand we have extensively expanded our Poetry  resources on the blog. You can find the new revamped Poetry Page under the Reading Tab on the Cabra Library Blog Homepage. There are some really useful online resources here. Everything from searchable poetry databases, (search by poet, poem title, subject, first line), guides to poetry terminology, First World War Poetry Archive, the list goes on.

Check out all the resources here.