The Hope Prize: short story competition – Entries Open Now!

The Brotherhood of St Laurence is working to create a compassionate and just Australia where everyone can take part in the social and economic life of our nation.

We are a prosperous country, but there are far too many pockets of poverty and disadvantage in our cities, suburbs, regions and remote areas.

In establishing The Hope Prize – a new national short story competition  –  we want to encourage Australian writers to tackle a subject that is all too often hidden from public view or reduced to clichés.

  • First prize of $5000
  • Second prize of $3000
  • Third prize of $2000
  • Highly commended stories will each receive $500
  • An award of $500 will also be made to an emerging writer under 18.

The deadline for entry is 31 January, 2016.
Stories submitted must be between 2000 and 5000 words.

The short story entered can be fiction or fact. Whatever the genre, the story submitted must convey the experience of people facing hardship in their lives.

Check out the competition guidelines here.

click to download Hope_Prize_Short_Story_Competition_Entry_Form

The judges: Cate Blanchett, Kate Grenville and Quentin Bryce

Three leading Australians, actor Cate Blanchett, author Kate Grenville, and the former Governor General Quentin Bryce, will judge the Brotherhood of St Laurence The Hope Prize.

Fuzzy Mud Creative Writing Competition for students. Enter Now!

Win books for you and your school!

To celebrate the release of Fuzzy Mud by the bestselling author of HolesLouis Sachar, Bloomsbury is giving students the chance to win a $200 book pack for themselves and another one for their school!

fuzzy mud writing comp

To enter, students must write a short story with the following title: “A little mud never hurt anyone, did it?” Entries must be emailed to with the student’s name, age, and parent/guardian’s email address. The deadline for entries is 31st October 2015.

Get writing!

SA Students Writing Competition – Entries Open Now!

Love writing, like competition? Then why not enter the SA English Teachers Association Young Writers Award? Click on the link below for more details and to download an entry form. Prose or poetry, all SA students from Reception to Year 12.

click to download 2015 SAETA YWA Entry form

Katharine Susannah Prichard Short Fiction and Speculative Fiction Awards 2014

KSP Writers' Centre

Are you a writer? Do you love writing? There are loads of writing competitions with great prizes (not to mention the fame, oh the fame!) open to enter each year in Australia and overseas. The Katharine Susannah Prichard Short Fiction Award 2014 and The Katharine Susannah Prichard Speculative Fiction Awards 2014. are now open to enter. There are two categories, an ‘Open’ category with a small entry fee and a ‘Youth’ category which is free to enter. Click on the links for competition rules and an entry form. Both categories have a maximum word length of 3000 words. Get writing!

Download Entry Form

  • Open Category: 1000 minimum – 3000 maximum
  • Young Writers Category: 200 minimum – 3000 maximum
  • Entry fee: Adults $7.00, youth enter free
  • Closes: 5pm, Friday 19 September, 2014

If you like writing Fantasy, Science Fiction or Horror/Supernatural fiction there is also The Katharine Susannah Prichard Speculative Fiction Awards 2014. Entry forms and info here.

So who was Katharine Susannah Prichard?  Katharine Susannah Prichard was the first Australian novelist to gain international recognition. In 1915, her novel, The Pioneers, won the Hodder and Stoughton All Empire Literature Prize for Australasia. Read more about her via the links below.